Horrorfest 2023 Presents: Ghostbusters (1984, Ivan Reitman)


That’s not the Three Amigos!

While I don’t love Ghostbusters as much as others do I still bought the steel book Blu-ray copy that Best Buy had back when they used to sell movies. Which only ended this year, but it feels like it happened years ago, and it’s sad but oh well. So I own the movie, and I don’t have to care if it’s on streaming or if anyone airs it and cuts out all the funny jokes that aren’t appropriate or whatever. The 1980s had no filters, and Ghostbusters reflects that in so many hilarious ways. I’m not easily offended so I don’t mind, but hey I was born in the 1980s. Ivan Reitman is no longer with us, yet he gave the world one of the funniest comedies of the 1980s. Some argue of all time, but I’m not one of those people. I find the last act to be too effects heavy even if it has some great one liners and jokes. Half the movie is just the Ghostbusters wandering around New York City capturing spirits, hence why I feel the animated TV show that was made later on fits this concept much better. Yes I’ve seen the second movie and the all female 2016 one, and I’ll probably watch the last two at some point.

Harold Ramis, Bill Murray, Dan Aykroyd and Ernie Hudson are the four members of a group of guys who decide to fight ghosts and make as much money off it as possible. Sigourney Weaver is the love interest who catches Murray’s eye, and Annie Potts and Rick Moranis are the secondary cast members. That’s a pretty great group right there, along with the snappy memorable lines, Slimmer popping up, and the Stay Puft Marshmallow Man, who I would love to see fight Godzilla or King Kong. As I noted, I prefer the first half of the movie to the second, and honestly when it comes to 80s Murray comedies I prefer Stripes a bit more anyways. Still Ghostbusters is fun, it’s funny, and so far none of the sequels quite managed to capture the lightening in a bottle aspects of the original.

I believe this was one of my viewings for Halloween, or at least around Halloween, as I had to work. I don’t take it off every year like I used to, which is too bad. Maybe I’m getting old, or the holiday doesn’t hold as much relevance for me as it used to. Nah I was just tired from moving in September, I can’t wait for next year! Also the song from this movie is a gas even if it is overplayed a lot every Halloween season at bars.

Busting makes them feel good?! Alrighty then!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑