M. Gustave: You see, there are still faint glimmers of civilization left in this barbaric slaughterhouse that was once known as humanity. Indeed that’s what we provide in our own modest, humble, insignificant… oh, fuck it.-The Grand Budapest Hotel

Today I had a Twitter conversation with a fellow follower. He made the mistake of reading the comments section of an Internet article. I too choose to often do so because well, people love to look at car crashes. Of course in that case car crashes are accidental-terrible racist, homophobic and or sexist comments are not. So much for the 21st century.

Still I’m reminded of the scene in The Grand Budapest Hotel where Ralph Fiennes mediates upon civility in a barbaric and hostile world. His end response of “Fuck it” is a feeling that many exasperated people have when they venture into the Internet and read certain posts. I mean who the hell are these people? I’ll admit I curse way too much and I often fail to use proper grammar yet these idiots are the toilet bowl scum of the online world.

It’s really quite depressing and honestly I don’t have a solution to the problem. I’ll try and encourage those who behave as if they were not raised to be buffoons, yet online anonymity encourages terrible behavior. The sad thing is that not even having their actual name attached to their posts is enough to detour them from making comments that are insanely cringe worthy. A pessimistic individual would note this as the human race being doomed. I think I would go with hoping the sane end up prevailing.

