Thanks to Netflix Instant Viewing I was able to view Longmire. I’m currently on the 7th episode of the first season, and its a really good show. Maybe even great. The credits say it’s based off of the book series about Walt Longmire, the local sheriff of a town in Wyoming that is in the middle of nowhere. The show’s cast is great too, as Robert Taylor does an excellent job in the title role and the show also has Katee Sackhoff, Lou Diamond Phillips, Bailey Chase, Cassidy Freeman and Adam Bartley. My favorite character is The Ferg-a nickname bestowed on him by Longmire and the others-who in despite being large and at times not as smart as the others still does his job to the best of his ability.

I love that this show is set in the West, as I’ve always been a fan of westerns. One episode has Longmire shooting a man with a Winchester lever-action rifle, and Longmire and the rest of his deputies all usually sport cowboy hats and operate in a rural setting. The Ferg even carries a six shooter cannon, although the rest of the group sports semi-automatic handguns. Many of the episodes feature cases that involve murder, although a really good political oriented one had Longmire hunting for missing Native American boys.

I’m hoping to finish up Season 1 soon and then wait eagerly for Season 2 to hit Netflix Instant Viewing. A&E has surprised me with a good action/western drama that is well made, expertly paced, and really entertaining. I’m hoping it runs for at least 5 seasons, although I’ll settle for whatever I can get. And I would like to read the books at some point. Especially since there are probably many of them.

PS: I finished Season 1 late last night/early in the morning. Pretty good, maybe almost great, season that finished really strong down the stretch. Having to wait for Season 2 to hit Netflix really sucks, but it will be worth it.

