Caring is hard and takes a lot of work. Its much easier to just be passive, to sit back and not give a shit. I’ll admit I’ve been plenty guilty of this, although being active say, politically, takes a lot of time and money. I have some time but not the money-yet. I’ve encountered too many people lately who ask “What’s the point?” in regards to people trying to change things for the better, or dedicating themselves to a particular cause. I’m reminded of the great journalist Greg Palast, who has spent his entire career fighting for those who can’t fight for themselves, trying to uncover the truth. I’m sure he would disagree with that assessment, and would argue that getting mad and getting even is an American right-hell a world right even. Apathy has infected our political process, and yet I wonder if somehow I could get all those who are disgusted with politics and who don’t vote to support a particular party or a decent candidate at least if I could enact some change.

Imagine if someone managed to find those independent voters and those who are disgusted with both parties and convinced them to form a party of their own. I bet it would be a decent enough number to get a good candidate on the ballot somewhere. If not then at least they tried. After all the great Teddy Roosevelt, one of our best presidents, said “Far better is it to dare mighty things, to win glorious triumphs, even though checkered by failure than to rank with those poor spirits who neither enjoy much nor suffer much, because they live in a gray twilight that knows not victory nor defeat.” He was also the last independent candidate until Ross Perot to actually get a good percentage of the popular vote in a presidential election, and the Bull Moose Party ended up championing a bunch of progressive causes, some which were actually adopted later on and made into law.

For now I’ll have to settle with using my crappy blog and my Twitter account to try and spread my opinion, bashing those who deserve it while praising those who earn such approval. I certainly would love to be involved in politics at some point, although maybe I would be better off volunteering for a much nobler cause. Impacting just one person in a just way is better than having a negative outlook on the world that aids no one, particularly oneself.

