The recent airplane crash is tragic, sure-however what the media will forget to tell you is that airplane travel is the safest way to go in this country. You have a higher chance of dying in a car accident while heading down the street to pick up a six pack of Keystone Light than you do being involved in airplane crash. I wonder if maybe people are just scared to fly, although granted I hear that you get full body searched these days at the airport so maybe that’s it. Regardless the reaction every time a plane crash happens always remains the same.

In fact the reason why the media makes such a big deal out of airplane crashes is because they are rare, which then leads to uneducated people freaking out and thinking that planes literally fall from the sky. I wonder how I would react to flying on a plane now, as the last time I journeyed into the sky happened to be when I was 6 years old. However I didn’t mind the trip at all-I just went to sleep, and sometimes I looked out the window-and I think the only things I would do differently now would be to watch the in-flight movie and try to get those little containers of booze. I hear they don’t even serve peanuts anymore. Bummer.

That said, I am curious about what brought about the latest tragic disaster, as I’m sure the government is as well, for obvious reasons. Despite their reports people will continue to fly, especially since its faster than going by train. Or driving for that matter considering the amount of terrible drivers on the road these days.

PS: I would like to note that a very good friend of mine is a pilot and flies all the time. I don’t think he would get into that line of work if planes crashed all the time, although granted people work dangerous jobs all the time.

