Lately I’ve been thinking about the novelists that I’ve been a huge fan of over the years. Some of my favorites would include:

*Ray Bradbury. He gave us Fahrenheit 451, one of my all time favorite novels, and The Martian Chronicles, which is an amazing book. Among other famous books and short stories. I love that he wrote fantasy, sci-fi, and horror, and that he lived a long and rich life. I love that Bradbury was a huge proponent not just of people reading, but also of people thinking and using their minds.

*Arthur C. Clarke, a man who was much a visionary as he was a fantastic sci-fi writer. 2001: A Space Odyssey is a classic, and I liked the sequel to it as well. Plus one of his short story collections, of which I have read. Sadly I’m still waiting for mankind to journey to Saturn and Jupiter, reaching beyond the stars.

*Ernest Hemmingway, who gave us The Old Man and the Sea, The Sun Also Rises, Farewell To Arms, and others. I love his tough, tense prose and how his characters bear external and internal scars. There is a rough poetry to his work, and he lived as much as he wrote.

*Michael Crichton, a man that married sci-fi with entertainment and was responsible for many blockbuster style books. Jurassic Park is one of my favorites, and I like The Lost World, Congo, and a couple others. He was taken from us too soon, and just when the 21st century was getting started.

*Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, a man responsible for Sherlock Holmes but also The Lost World, a huge favorite novel of mine. I love how he gave us one of the all time greatest characters in Holmes who along with Watson solved crimes using his great intellect and keen sense of observation.

*Stephen King, who needs no introduction. The Dark Tower series is legendary, as is his horror tales. ‘Salem’s Lot and Carrie are classics, and The Stand is an epic and magnificent sprawling tale about the battle for mankind after the end of civilization. I’m glad that he is still alive and writing, as he survived being run over by a car sometime ago.

There are a couple others that don’t come to mind currently, but this list will do for now.

