Or basically how I stopped hating and learned to love the hashtag. Still I’m wondering how some of my all time favorite shows would have fared in the era of Twitter. 24 would have made for some fun statuses, but I’m glad that while waiting to watch an episode at times all I had to do was avoid RT when it came to spoilers. Which is funny considering that Fox is considering bringing the show back. I would have had to skip all social media on the night Lost aired, because it was bad enough that some people on RT would spoiler the show so easily-Twitter would have made things worse. However there are some upsides to Twitter that I find handy.

Namely that you can live tweet your thoughts to the cast of the show you are watching as it airs. I actually got Yvette Nicole Brown to respond to and favor one of my tweets this year as I viewed an episode of Community Season 4, which was really cool. That’s always fun to get a famous person to like what you are saying about the show they’re putting their full efforts into. Not to mention the amount of Twitter accounts for TV shows is numerous. Doctor Who has several and I decided to follow only two of them just so I could keep track.

Since Twitter isn’t going anywhere (or Facebook for that matter) I suppose utilizing them to promote TV shows and share your fandom is the only way to go. That said, please go easy on the spoilers. In this day and age its easier to use DVR and the Internet to keep up with TV than viewing it live.

